Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

There is an neutral cleric, Maximus, who is worshiping not a deity, but a cause; he's got two domains, War and Travel. At first level, he chose that he'll channel positive energy and will turn undead.

Then, his alignment became evil. As he doesn't worship a particular deity and his domains have nothing to do with alignments, I believe he still has access to his divine magic AND both domains, but the real question is: What happens to his channel energy ability, as well as his turning ability?

Does he still possess the positive energy abilities, or do both of them turn into "negative energy" and "rebuke undead"?

share|improve this question
2  
Interesting question, added alignment tag as well for you ;) –  Eldebryn Jun 6 '12 at 22:53
add comment

2 Answers 2

From the Player's Handbook, pg33:

A good cleric (or a neutral cleric who worships a good deity) can turn or destroy undead creatures. An evil cleric (or a neutral cleric who worships an evil deity) instead rebukes or commands such creatures, forcing them to cower in awe of his power. If your character is a neutral cleric of a neutral deity, you must choose whether his turning ability functions as that of a good cleric or an evil cleric. Once you make this choice, it cannot be reversed. This decision also determines whether the cleric cast spontaneous cure or inflict spells (see above).

It says evil clerics rebuke undead and spontaneously cast inflict spells. While it does say that neutral clerics who pick one or the other can't change their mind, it does not say that your abilities don't change when you change alignments.

To borrow a computer science term, it's stateless: it doesn't care about what your alignment was in the past, only what your alignment is now. If the cleric is evil right now, he rebukes undead and spontaneously casts inflict spells. If he doesn't like that, he needs to move back to neutral and then choose turning undead & spontaneous cure casting (note that this choice does have state: the rules says it cannot be reversed, so any time he moves from good/evil to neutral, he uses whatever he picked the first time he was neutral).

share|improve this answer
1  
Okay, so it's more like "Damn, I'm casting turns again! Gotta go kick up some kiddos before I may get back to my laundry!"... Fascinating 8) –  Baka-Mastermind Jun 6 '12 at 22:57
1  
The "Once you make this choice, it cannot be reversed" part makes me think that once you've chosen which way you swing while Neutral, you can't reverse that. So if you choose to act as an evil cleric while neutral, you'll have to get all the way to good before you start with turns, and if you drop to neutral afterward you'll go back to rebukes. –  Lunin Jun 6 '12 at 23:16
    
@Lunin: Yes, that's how I interpreted it as well. –  Oblivious Sage Jun 6 '12 at 23:26
add comment

Most DMs I know make so that if a cleric changes their alignment, their deity forsakes them until they Attone (something like the Paladin). This means that until they are redeemed or find a new deity to take them in, they get no spells since there's no divine fuel in the tank.

Again going with personal circles, the deity makes the power over the dead. Being under a good deity almost always means a good cleric, and the inverse is often true as well. If your alignment and deity match up, then the turning/rebuking should match.

share|improve this answer
2  
My experiences as both player and DM are different. If you move to an incompatible alignment, the deity will forsake them until they atone. But the alignment doesn't have to be a perfect match between cleric and deity and the cleric's alignment can move around within the compatible zone. –  TimothyAWiseman Jun 7 '12 at 17:35
    
Usually players in my circles are good about their alignments, but the DMs take the magic very seriously because of how quickly it can be abused. –  CatLord Jun 7 '12 at 17:47
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.