Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Does the Resourceful Leader [ddi] multi-class Warlord feat apply to all damage rolls?

i.e. is that a +3 on each hit from every attack?

Benefit: You gain training in one skill from the warlord’s class skills list. When an ally you can see spends an action point to make an attack, the ally gains a +3 bonus to damage rolls on a hit or gains 3 temporary hit points on a miss. This bonus increases to +5 at 11th level and +7 at 21st level. These temporary hit points increase to 5 at 11th level and 7 at 21st level.

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

If an action point was used to activate the power the attack is part of.

If an action point is used for a multi-attack power, such as Twin Strike, or an AoE power, such as Swordburst, every damage roll gains the damage bonus. However, the power does not count as a miss unless it misses every target.

For example, if you use Swordburst while 3 enemies are adjacent to you, and hit 2 of the 3 foes, you would do +X damage (based on the warlord's level) to both foes, but you would not gain any temporary HP.

More examples, with Twin Strike:

  • both hit => +X damage on each
  • one hit => +X damage on that hit
  • neither hit => gain X temp HP
share|improve this answer


As per the text you quoted, the ally must have spent an action point to get an extra action (Rules Compendium 235), and then used that action to make an attack. Only then, and only on that attack, does the ally get the bonus damage or compensatory hit points.

share|improve this answer
Ok, got that it's the single action granted by the Action Point ... but would they get a +3 for each roll in the attack (thinking Twin Strike), or even each dice (thinking a Maul being 2D6) ? – SteveC Jun 9 '12 at 12:33
@SteveC Yes to Twin Strike (each successful hit gets its own damage roll); no to the individual dice in a maul attack (that would end up as 2d6+3, not 1d6+3 twice). – Jadasc Jun 9 '12 at 12:52

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.