Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can a character have on two identical rings, one in each ring slot? I can't seem to find any rule saying this isn't possible, but the DM thinks it may not be. The ring I have in mind is just a pair of +1 protection rings.

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

As the above says about two like bonuses, however there is an advantage to having two of the same ring if they have charges or some other use limit. So I wouldn't mind having two rings of Fireball, each with a 1/day use limit or some-such.

share|improve this answer

You can wear them, but their effects might not stack.

In this case, two rings of protection won't stack, because the rings provide a deflection bonus to AC, but deflection bonuses don't stack with other deflection bonuses.

share|improve this answer
    
Now rings that give you a dodge bonus to AC... –  Cthos Jul 6 '12 at 15:35
2  
There's another reason they wouldn't stack; in 3.X, Pathfinder, and 4e, bonuses from sources of the same name never stack - so, for example, two Haste spells won't double the dodge bonus to your armor class. –  Lord_Gareth Feb 11 '13 at 12:27
2  
Note, however, that while the lack of stacking bonuses does make most rings nearly worthless to double up on, there are a few exceptions. A Ring of Friend Shield, for example, doubled up on the end of the guy who soaks damage well, will allow him to protect 2 squishy allies at once by redirecting to himself half the damage due to each of them. Also, even non-stacking effects, such as your rings of protection, still provide slightly more benefit than none at all, since you're somewhat hedged against enemies who target one of them to suppress (with Dispel Magic or the like). –  Matthew Najmon Apr 5 '13 at 4:19

There is no reason you can't but it won't be any better than using just one as like bonuses don't stack:

From the d20pfsrd:

Bonuses are numerical values that are added to checks and statistical scores. Most bonuses have a type, and as a general rule, bonuses of the same type are not cumulative (do not “stack”)—only the greater bonus granted applies.

So you'd only get a +1 bonus regardless of whether you are wearing 1 or 2 rings.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.