Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Following on from a thought from With Arcane Reach can you thunderwave yourself I pondered if a caster can self-target with an attack power?

I'll restrict this to 4e as an answer, but my experience with the system is very limited, but the answer interests me for comical value if nothing else.

Related is Can a caster hit themself with a blast spell

Plus @Brian suggested I ask this too ;)

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

in 4e the answer is Yes. Depending on the target line.

Many of a casters' At-Will and Encounter powers will have a target line of "one creature in range" or "All creatures in burst" or something. The important word is creature, rather than enemy or ally. Another wording is "You and all allies" or "you or one ally" these both allow self targeting. however just Ally does not.

Thus if your square is a valid square for a target (unmodified close attacks typically cannot attack your own square), then you can target yourself.

4e does not have any kind concentration mechanic for casters so taking damage/getting targetted disrupting a spell is not a concern here.

share|improve this answer
2  
Hitting yourself is actually an important part of the strategy for dragonborn using Ancient Soul to make a rebreather. –  Oblivious Sage Jun 12 '12 at 15:03
1  
Also, remember that the power user is not considered an ally of himself. So, you can target yourself if the target line is: "You or an ally [within range]", but you can't if the target lines reads: "An ally [within range]". –  Erik Burigo Jun 12 '12 at 15:12
1  
@ErikBurigo added those details –  wax eagle Jun 12 '12 at 15:27
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.