Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

How are conflicts in the End of Turn sequence resolved?

The specific example we had last night was resolving whether the Avenger could Shift using the Bond of Pursuit [ddi] end-of-turn effect, when he had an Immobilised status imposed by the same target which lasted until the end of the target turn, i.e. resolving the ... until the end of the targets turn, he was immobilised, so he can't shift ... versus the ... but at the end of the targets turn he can shift

Bond of Pursuit

Hit ... If the target doesn’t end its next turn adjacent to you, you can shift a number of squares equal to 1 + your Dexterity modifier as a free action, and you must end that shift closer to the target.

Immobilized

When a creature is immobilized, it can’t move, unless it teleports or is pulled, pushed, or slid.

My understanding is both the start-of-turn and end-of-turn sequences are under the creatures control, so e.g. the order in the start-of-turn of applying ongoing damage and regeneration is up to the creature.

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 9 down vote accepted

All effects at the start (or end) of a creature's turn are resolved in the order that creature decides.

As @Ananisapta found out: from Rules Compendium, page 199.

The creature can choose the order in which things happen at the end of its turn. For instance, if the creature has saving throws to make and is subjected to an affect that damages it at the end of its turn, the creature can choose to take the damage and then make the saving throws or the other way around.

I haven't the reference at hand at the moment, but it seems to me that this rule was present since Player's Handbook printing.

share|improve this answer
2  
Rules Compendium, 199 - "The creature can choose the order in which things happen at the end of its turn. For instance, if the creature has saving throws to make and is subjected to an affect that damages it at the end of its turn, the creature can choose to take the damage and then make the saving throws or the other way around." –  Ananisapta Jun 14 '12 at 12:20
    
Thanks, @Ananisapta! I'm going to embed this in the answer. –  Erik Burigo Jun 14 '12 at 12:24
1  
If I correctly intended the spirit of SE sites, ownership of the answer is a fluid thing. Feel free to edit my answers in order to give the questioner and future readers the best written and referenced response. It's better improving an answer than duplicating it. –  Erik Burigo Jun 14 '12 at 12:36
1  
It just seemed a little impolite to go and do that, at least without telling you first XD. –  Ananisapta Jun 14 '12 at 12:40
1  
@Ananisapta if you've got a relevant quote that's missing from our answers and you'd rather edit than write a new one you are always free to do so. SE is intended to be collaboratively edited. It's no coincidence that all these posts are editable –  wax eagle Jun 14 '12 at 13:19

Here's how I see it.

  1. The creature's turn ends. The Avenger is no longer immobilized.
  2. The avenger checks, now that the turn has ended to see whether the creature is adjacent. If it's not he can shift as he is no longer immobilized.

The phrasing here is "ends it turn" not an on "end of turn" so it happens (IMO) after the turn ends, after the EoT effects clear.

share|improve this answer
1  
And then what happens when two or three different effects on "ends it turn" trigger? –  Erik Burigo Jun 14 '12 at 11:53
    
then that would be the choice of the creature. But the point here is that the two effects have different qualifications here. one is End of turn (a specific period), and one is when the turn ends (more nebulous). –  wax eagle Jun 14 '12 at 12:00
    
We agree that the wording "ends its turn" is hazy. My interpretation, however, is that it falls in the normal End of Turn sequence of events for the simple reason that I haven't found any other "turn end" definition in the rules. –  Erik Burigo Jun 14 '12 at 12:02
    
One point of interest - Rules Compendium, pg 198 "A creature can't take any actions at the end of its turn. However, other creatures might have abilities that they can use at the end of that creature's turn." This suggests that upon the end of the turn of the creature doing the immobilising, it stops doing the action that caused the immobilisation, and THEN the Avenger gets to do his thing. –  Ananisapta Jun 14 '12 at 12:24
2  
Before getting into the gritty details, it isn't actually specified that the pursuit action itself happens at the end of the target's turn, just that if the target doesn't end its turn adjacent, the Avenger can use a free action to shift. That is, it doesn't explicitly say it must shift right then, just that it has been enabled to do so. So there is technically nothing stopping the Avenger just waiting a while, perhaps until the turn of the next creature, and using the free action then, thereby bypassing the entire issue. It probably isn't in the spirit of the rules, though. –  Ananisapta Jun 14 '12 at 12:51

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.