Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Looking at Fey Beast Tamer in DDI, there are no indications about how it takes its turns, performs movements, or attacks.

Is there an online reference providing rules for how the creature takes actions somewhere?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

The Glossary of the Compendium has a listing for Fey Beast companion Actions:

It boils down the following:

  • Standard - you have to take your standard to give it one

  • Move - When you take a move action it can also take a move action, you can stay put, but it still consumes your move

  • Minor - It consumes your minor action

  • Free action - naturally it can always take free actions.

  • Triggered actions - can only be done if you are allowed to make the same trigger (IE if you still have an immediate action left, if you are free to make opportunity attacks etc). (note it consumes your action of the action it takes, so if it takes an immediate, you are using your immediate to tell it to move, same with OA).

  • Can act independently - if it is farther than 20 squares away from you or you are unconscious then it can still act, but only has a single action. It can still take opportunity and free actions, but cannot take immediate actions.

share|improve this answer
    
Unless I read it wrong, the Fey Beast can act on its own OA, only you offer your up for that turn. P106 : Triggered Actions: If one of your fey beast companion's triggered actions is triggered, the companion can take that action only if you takes the same kind of action to command it to do so. Example, if an enemy adjacent to your companion provokes an opportunity attack from it, you must take an opportunity action to command your companion to make the attack. –  Exo Waltz 23 hours ago
    
@ExoWaltz that's correct. I'll clarify here –  wax eagle 21 hours ago

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.