Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

There are many properties that trigger after teleportation in 4e. Is it possible to activate a teleport power and choose the distance teleported to be 0 squares? (effectively teleporting in place?)

share|improve this question
I feel like invoking the sack of rats clause might be appropriate here. – wax eagle Jun 21 '12 at 19:26
Could you please explain the reason you'd want to do this? To break a grab? – F. Randall Farmer Jun 21 '12 at 19:37
@F.RandallFarmer best guess: he's trying to use something the triggers off a teleport, but wants to remain in current position. – wax eagle Jun 21 '12 at 19:58
Why would you want to do this? – DForck42 Jun 22 '12 at 15:26
There are a number of things that trigger on teleport, but I may not want to give up my position. As a pixie, I'd quite like to be able to teleport "within the same square" – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Jun 22 '12 at 16:36
up vote 11 down vote accepted


Though it is not explicitly called out, there is a preponderance of wording that suggests you must chose a destination space other than the current one.


... A teleportation power transports creatures or objects instantaneously from one location to another.

From one location to another. Strike 1 - Seems to exclude the same location - but depends on grammatical set theory. :-)

... Instantaneous: Teleportation takes no time. The target disappears and immediately appears in the destination that the teleporting creature chooses. The movement is unhindered by intervening creatures, objects, or terrain.

Blocking isn't a problem.

... Destination Space: The destination of the teleportation must be an unoccupied space that is at least the same size as the target.

Strike 2 - The destination space is occupied - by you.

... Immobilized or Restrained: Being immobilized or restrained doesn’t prevent a target from teleporting. If a target teleports away from a physical restraint, a monster’s grasp, or some other immobilizing effect that is located in a specific space, the target is no longer immobilized or restrained. Otherwise, the target teleports but is still immobilized or restrained when it reaches the destination space.

Assuming Teleport 0 is being used to escape restraint, this is Strike 3: You aren't teleporting away from restraint, so your are still restrained.

Despite all that, I imagine many DMs would house-rule otherwise, and I might be one of them.

share|improve this answer
You might simply teleport one or two squares up. – Mala Jun 21 '12 at 20:26
Or get those boots (Planestrider Boots?) that allow you to split a teleport into 2 teleports whose summed distance is <= the distance of the original teleport. Teleport a couple squares over and then back. – Oblivious Sage Jun 21 '12 at 20:35
@mala That's the ticket to break a grab, but you end up making a check to see if you fall prone. – F. Randall Farmer Jun 21 '12 at 22:09
Actually, here's a thought. As a pixie he's a small (or smaller) creature right? Since there is enough space for several of them in square, could he teleport somewhere else in his own square? That might qualify as a teleport 0. – IgneusJotunn Jun 24 '12 at 5:32
@IgneusJotunn Actually, a pixie could teleport 1 up, and fall 1 without any risk whatsoever, since it has a higher fly speed than that. – F. Randall Farmer Jun 24 '12 at 7:21

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.