Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Certain powers cause damage without specifying any conditions about how that damage is dealt. Consider, for example, the following Barbarian Rage Daily Powers:

Earthquake Dragon's Rage
Effect: whenever an enemy hits you, you deal thunder damage equal to your strength modifier to each creature within 5 squares of you.


Desert Wind Rage
Effect: at the start of each of your turns, you deal 5 + your strength modifier fire >damage to each enemy within 5 squares of you.

Does the Raging Barbarian need line of sight or line of effect to a target to deal damage to it? For example, if an enemy is on the other side of a wall but within 5 squares, do they take the damage?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

Yes, you still need Line of Effect.

The damage dealt by these Rage effects may not be a close burst attack (or any other type of attack for that matter) but you still require Line of Effect.

Rules Compendium p.107:

Line of Effect: Unless otherwise noted, there must be a line of effect from the origin square of an effect and its intended target for that target to be affected.

Note that the rules mention effects and not merely attacks.

share|improve this answer
Line of sight only applies when actively targeting a creature, and so wouldn't be needed in this case, right? – Oblivious Sage Jun 26 '12 at 5:51
That's correct. The distinction is the key to effectively attacking invisible creatures - because you are attacking a space and not a creature, you shouldn't take the penalty for trying to target them. You target the space easily, and they happen to occupy it. – Jurph Jun 26 '12 at 13:55
In this case, you're not actually targeting a creature with an attack, you're simply dealing damage to them. The rage effects have more in common with hazardous zones, such as the Wizard level 1 daily Freezing Cloud. You still need line of effect from the origin square, but you don't need line of sight. – Soulrift Jun 26 '12 at 22:41
@Soulrift I would have thought the closest analogy would be a temporary aura, rather than a zone, as it originates from a creature. But that is just nitpicking :P – Ananisapta Jun 28 '12 at 5:25
Good call Ananisapta. The Compendium entry for Aura does explicitly state that they require Line of Effect and that they're blocked by blocking terrain. So yeah, Auras are probably the best way to understand the mechanics of these Rages. – Soulrift Jul 1 '12 at 2:39

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.