Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A warforged character has a +2 racial bonus to saving throws against ongoing damage.

Does the bonus apply if he's afflicted with 5 ongoing + dazed and a save ends both?

share|improve this question
    
+1 Very good question. –  Erik Burigo Jul 3 '12 at 8:44
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 9 down vote accepted

Yes. The bonus would apply to the save.

The status effect includes ongoing damage. Therefore, it meets the condition of "saving throw against ongoing damage." There is no other qualifier in the power so there is nothing to prevent it from applying.

Were the conditions separate, he would only get the bonus against the damage. But, because they are combined he gets it against the combined effect.

share|improve this answer
    
I take it that this also applies to stuff that lets you roll a saving throw against a particular effect, e.g. Superior Will when you're Dazed&Weakened (save ends both). –  Ravn Mar 13 at 12:39
1  
@Ravn yes it does. –  wax eagle Mar 13 at 12:40
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.