Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

So by the book 1st Edition AD&D, clerics can't use a sling.

Other than game balance (it essentially means that other than the odd thrown hammer clerics have no ranged weapon ability which further distinguishes them from fighters) is there any justification for this? Bows I can kind of see (they're pointy) but not slings.

share|improve this question
    
Actually, 1E Clerics can also throw clubs with the same expertise as hammers. –  Badmike Jul 5 '12 at 23:24

2 Answers 2

up vote 13 down vote accepted

The primary reasoning for this is because of Gygax's study of anthropology.

Priests during the dark ages often favored staves and other blunt objects that could be used more for policing and self defense against other weapons than actual harm. Thus if used properly they would not cause bleeding (directly) but maybe severe bruising or a broken bone.

EDIT 1: p.166 of "The Historical Atlas of Knights and Castles", Dr. Ian Barnes

The 13th Century Mace ... was a cavalry and elite weapon, especially favored by fighting clerics (who would rather crack a skull than spill blood).

Also This article includes

The clergy was forbidden to shed blood, and thus a sword was inhibited, it might have been thought was sufficient to keep them from the battle field. But not so; They adopted the mace; though they could not cut a man's throat, yet they might break his head

share|improve this answer

My understanding is that slingshot generally cause bleeding on impact and I believe the whole "no edged or pointy weapons" cleric restriction stems from a "do not draw blood" prohibition. But, I do not have rule books at hand.

share|improve this answer
5  
Yes, well, flails and morning stars often have pointy bits too, and even a club can draw blood from a crushed nose. This restriction doesn't really hold up well to scrutiny. That's what you get for a rule that's based on an off-hand reference in the Chanson de Roland. :) –  lisardggY Jul 5 '12 at 10:16

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.