Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Dictionary of Mu you can get a 1-3 die bonus for cross-referencing into the Dictionary.

Can this bonus apply to Contacting/Binding/Summoning, just to Contacting, to all rituals, or to actions that are not rituals? Is there a cumulative bonus for multiple references?

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

It is very much up to the table to decide this. I think you'll know when someone links to the setting in a way that is meaningful to everyone. It could be a character talking about something they read out of the book, from a character using something that you just described in their description of their character's actions.

share|improve this answer

The rules in Mu are a little unspecified here, but the way that I have handled it is that the 1-3 bonus can be used once. Of course the cumulative successes rule applies, so those dice can help beyond just Contacting (if that's the point they are used in), but I think adding them into every single roll as a given bonus gets too extraneous.

That said, I tend to be a little generous with my bonus dice, and thus have no complications giving out extra 1-3 bonus dice per cross-referenced dictionary item. Obviously if players are just going through the book halfheartedly do not award them anything, but I think any amount of tieing the situation to the setting deserves an award.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.