Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In D&D 4e, do death saving throws gain a benefit from powers, feats, features, etc. that provide a bonus to normal saving throws? Or are they considered wholly unique things?

This is, of course, assuming the effect doesn't normally end upon an unconscious state, such as stances. I'm speaking of such things as the feat Resilient Focus, or the handful of human racial feats that provide saving throw bonuses.

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted


From the Rules Compendium, p260 (emphasis mine):

Death Saving Throw: When an adventurer is dying, make a saving throw at the end of that character's turn each round. A death saving throw works just like any other saving throw, but the result determines how close the adventurer is to death.

If you get a bonus to all saving throws, that bonus does apply to death saves.

share|improve this answer
Furthermore, if your bonus to saving throws brings your death saving throw up to 20 or above, you can spend a healing surge just like if you had rolled a natural 20. – Jason White Jul 7 '12 at 15:56

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.