Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If a character casts "summon monster" and summons the monster immediately next to another creature/character/etc does that creature get an attack of opportunity?

The spell states It appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn. but does the summoning count as a movement (a la teleport?) by the creature which would then invoke an attack of opportunity?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 9 down vote accepted

No attack of opportunity is granted.

According to the Pathfinder's RSD attacks of opportunity are triggered only by:

  • moving out of a square in the threatened area of a hostile creature. Exceptions are: the 5-ft. step, the withdraw action, and teleportation (but not necessarily casting a teleport spell).
  • performing a distracting act while in a square in the threatened area of a hostile creature. This usually include:
    • attacking with a ranged weapon,
    • attacking unarmed,
    • delivering a coup de grace,
    • performing a combat maneuver,
    • casting a spell,
    • using a touch spell (if the spell is harmful you are considered armed; you don't draw AoO from the target, but sill draw from other enemies)
    • activating a spell-like ability,
    • activating a spell-completion magic item,
    • drinking a potion or applying an oil,
    • loading a crossbow,
    • moving heavy objects around,
    • picking up objects,
    • sheathing a weapon,
    • retrieving a stored item,
    • standing up from prone,
    • escaping from a net,
    • activating or activating spell,
    • locking or unlocking a weapon to a gauntlet,
    • preparing to throw a splash weapon,
    • running,
    • using many skills.

Appearing into a square because of a summoning spell seems to not fall in these two categories.

However, appearing in the middle of an fight may or may not be considered a distracting act, according to how your group interpret Summoning effects.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.