Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In the movement section of the 4th edition core it states how a Free or Simple action can be used for movement. Now my big question is, since they separate the concept of a complex action to move as a "special case scenario", but list the maximum movement default as Water x 20', so should a character be allowed to use two simple move actions in a single turn as a difference between walking and running? Or do they only get one simple action because you can't just move as a complex action for Water x 20' on its own?

Currently I am running it as only being able to do one of the move actions (IE so that the free and simple moves can't be stacked), which leaves it with Water x 10' max movement unless special stuff comes into play. However, since I predict a chase scene in the next game the ability to double land speed will be vital.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

So, I looked this up and here's what I've found. In a normal round you can take either one complex action (Attacks before unlocking the simple action attack option), two simple actions (drawing weapons, moving Water x 10 feet, etc.), and a reasonable number of free actions that I believe cannot be doubled.

Anyway, as for your question, it's perfectly reasonable to take two simple actions to 'double move' for a total of Water x 20 feet, which is the normal maximum movement. I would assume that complex move actions are for things like, I don't know, safely ducking under, leaping over, stepping between a spear gauntlet set up by a rival lord on the way to an objective (the L5R equivalent of a laser hallway). I don't see this coming up a lot though, so it's probably under the GM handwave territory.

share|improve this answer
    
In theory that would qualify as moderate or difficult terrain which would reduce the distance that someone can travel in a single action, or it could be like a certain Earth spell in 3e that inhibits movement to 1ft unless you want to make an Agility roll and risk damage. –  CatLord Jul 17 '12 at 17:20
    
Actually, that's a very good point and it is covered in the rules. So, what would a complex move action be? –  Bigeshu Jul 17 '12 at 18:11
    
I'd have to thumb through my books, but I imagine it would be linked to a school technique. Like "as a complex move action, you can keep your previous stealth roll instead of rolling a new one" –  CatLord Jul 17 '12 at 18:50
    
One example is the Centipede Tattoo which is a complex move action to go Water x 100' –  CatLord Jul 23 '12 at 4:03
    
Well that answers that. Thanks CatLord. On a sidenote, Water x 100' Good gravy man! –  Bigeshu Jul 23 '12 at 17:19

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.