Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Does a character get one or two saves when pushed into a pit by Forced Movement?

Reading the Rules Compendium, one is one mentioned in the section on Hindering Terrain, p.207, and another in Catching Oneself on p.212

Are they talking about the same Saving Throw, or do you get a second chance ?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

The character gets one (and only one) saving throw.

The two sections you noted are referring to the same saving throw.

On page 207, the Hindering Terrain -> Saving Throw section ends with

See "Forced Movement" and "Teleportation" discussed later in this section

Page 212 is within the Forced Movement section and contains the details about how to resolve the saving throw mentioned on 207.

share|improve this answer
    
So one saving throw for the Forced Movement and if you fail and the said forced movement leads you to fall...you're automatically screwed? Logic wise I would disagree –  MrJinPengyou Jul 25 '12 at 1:40
    
@MrJinPengyou - Are you aware that forced movement does not normally allow a saving throw? If the forced movement forces you into hindering terrain (a pit is an example of hindering terrain) then you get a saving throw to avoid going into the hidden terrain. –  Pat Ludwig Jul 25 '12 at 3:01
    
@patludwig Thanks Pat ... I thought it was one, but it's good to get a second opinion –  SteveC Jul 25 '12 at 6:39

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.