Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In D&D 4th edition, the Alarm ritual has a component cost of "5gp, plus a set of focuses." What does "set of focuses" refer to here?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

The compendium entry for the Alarm ritual states:

Focus: While holding a tiny bell (5 gp), you use a fine silver wire (5 gp) to scribe runes on the warded area’s perimeter.

So I'd hazard that the set means both items.

share|improve this answer
    
So, in other words, a nice DM will just let you spend 15gp to use the ritual instead of requiring you to have everything already on you. –  DForck42 Aug 1 '12 at 16:31
    
A nice DM will make it interesting and not boring to find the elements, but yes. Otherwise, why bother with the ritual at all? –  Adriano Varoli Piazza Aug 1 '12 at 16:41
3  
Note that focuses, unlike components, are not consumed during a ritual, so you only have to acquire them once. –  Ananisapta Aug 2 '12 at 13:17

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.