Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I currently have a Druid in my game that is approaching epic level. In the epic level handbook there is a passage that I cannot find clarification on. The passage reads:

Animal Companion: The druid may have a maximum number of animal companions equal to twice her class level, as normal.

This implies to me that a druid may have multiple animal companions. I have searched the player handbook, epic level handbook, and the complete adventurer for an answer to this question. Is this question answered in another book that I do not own?

share|improve this question
up vote 11 down vote accepted

Quoting a relevant topic from

from the DMG Errata:

(Careful, the link points to a zip file from Always scan files for viruses etc upon download!)

Epic Druid

Dungeon Master’s Guide, page 208

Problem: Druids no longer get multiple animal companions.

Solution: Replace the Animal Companion paragraph with the following text:

Animal Companion: The epic druid’s animal companion continues to increase in power. At every three levels higher than 18th (21st, 24th, 27th, and so on), the companion gains +2 bonus Hit Dice, its natural armor increases by 2, its Strength and Dexterity modifiers increase by 1, and it learns one additional bonus trick.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.