Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

How is positive channel energy used in combat?

Do I just declare that I am using it or do I have to wish to use it and then roll to see if I am successful?

I suppose I'm asking when would the DC 13 come into play? And what attribute would I add to the d20? (wisdom mod I'd presume?)

(I understand that it may heal enemies but that I can combat this with selective channel energy)

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

With Channel Energy (read the linked rules), it is a standard action. You have to "present" your holy symbol - which doesn't quite qualify as requiring verbal, somatic, or material components so it works even in Silence or if bound unless your GM rules it doesn't - and the channeled energy goes out from you in a 30' radius. There is no roll to make it work per se, and it's even better than a spell in that it can't be disrupted, doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, and doesn't need Concentration checks to do in combat.

If you have chosen to use it to heal, it heals all (even enemies, unless you have Selective Channeling) in the radius. If you have chosen to use it to harm undead (if good) or creatures (if evil) same deal, it hurts all in the radius, at that point their make their save for half damage. The DC of this save is equal to 10 + 1/2 the cleric's level + the cleric's Charisma modifier. That's clearly spelled out in the rules linked above, you should go carefully read them.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.