Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

For the party I DM for, one of the Minotaur players has an nearly absurd (judgement call) feat called Opportunity Gore. Opportunity Gore lets a Minotaur use his racial power Goring Charge over and over again as an opportunity attack.

When Goring Charge hits, it knocks the target prone. So this leads to a slew of questions about how proning affects a creature in mid-movement. I think there are some rules for this situation but I can't remember where they are.

The primary question is: Does an opportunity proning immediately end movement and the move action in the triggering start square?

If not, what would happen?

share|improve this question
This isn't actually all that over-powered. That feat is one of the few strong points of the minotaur race (which is otherwise underpowered), and while prone on OAs isn't easy to come by, slow is (and is almost as good). – Oblivious Sage Aug 18 '12 at 23:51
Good point, your probably right about that. I think I just resent the feat because it's caught me off guard a few times. – Mark Rogers Aug 19 '12 at 0:41
just wait until he is slowing, pushing and proning on his OA :) – wax eagle Aug 19 '12 at 2:53
@waxeagle: Heck, by epic tier fighters can daze on OAs with the right feats. – Oblivious Sage Aug 19 '12 at 14:52
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Yes, they are knocked prone in the starting square. An opportunity action is a type of interrupt and thus happens before the move takes place.

The move action is then lost as they can no longer walk/run/climb and must crawl.

I strongly suggest employing parties of dwarven monsters.

share|improve this answer
So it does not affect a move action other than making a creature prone? The target still has the rest of their move action to complete if the target wishes? – Mark Rogers Aug 18 '12 at 21:43
I don't believe that second paragraph is accurate. Crawl is a separate action than Walk. After being prone, the creature may initiate a Crawl action if they have a move action (or equivalent) remaining, but the Walk action is essentially finished. – Pat Ludwig Aug 18 '12 at 22:03
@PatLudwig yeah good point. I'll edit it. – wax eagle Aug 18 '12 at 22:17
@MarkRogers see pat's comment above, looks like the move action is lost. – wax eagle Aug 18 '12 at 22:23
@all - thanks for the clarification. – Mark Rogers Aug 18 '12 at 22:40

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.