Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A dragon can cast spells with a somatic elements. If the dragon is polymorphed with baleful polymorph into a mouse and passes the second saving throw retaining the ability to cast spells:

  • will he still be able to cast spells with the somatic component?

  • will he still be able to cast spells with the verbal component?

A mouse cannot speak and is not really similar to a dragon so I would tend to assume that both answers are a no but then I would not see why the ability to cast spells is retained since it would be rarely the case that someone balefully polymorphs a creature in a similar creature able to speak ...

share|improve this question
3  
Probably no, but as a GM i'd say yes (for lulz). –  Macona Aug 24 '12 at 7:45
1  
It will always, of course, be the DM's call. We used to have a Warmage that was polymorphed into a hummingbird and the DM allowed him to retain his spellcasting abilities; he found the change to be... favorable. –  Yandros Aug 24 '12 at 13:39
    
@Cthoc: OK, thus: In settings, where (some types of) dragons have the shapechanger subtype, they "can revert to its natural form as a standard action" Baleful Polymorph. This does not apply to Pathfinder, because just "several of the Metallic Dragons get Change shape as a supernatural ability and special quality" (Cthos) only, not as subtype. (Thanks to Cthos for pointing this out!) –  Stephen Aug 25 '12 at 18:02
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted

No. Probably.

Specifically, a dragon Baleful Polymorph'd into a mouse can no longer speak, and probably can't make precise hand motions. The definition of Verbal components says:

To provide a verbal component, you must be able to speak in a strong voice.

Likewise with Somatic:

A somatic component is a measured and precise movement of the hand.

You could absolutely make the argument that a mouse can still make precise hand motions, but I feel like that comes down to exactly how precise the GM wants it to be; it could either mean precise finger motions as well, or just moving your hand around.

Basically, as long as the spell doesn't have verbal or somatic components (like a Silent Still spell), the dragon can cast it. Otherwise, he cannot.

The specifics on spell components are here.

share|improve this answer
2  
That does not necessarily rule out spells that don't need any of those components like, say, Glorious Master of the Elements. It can also use a Silent spell with no somatic component, a Still spell with no verbal component... you get the idea. It would also be able to use its spell-like abilities ("A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus or have an XP cost."). –  Yandros Aug 24 '12 at 13:33
1  
Dragons don't have hands to begin with -- that should at least be acknowledged in the answer! –  starwed Aug 25 '12 at 11:51
    
@starwed Oddly enough, in second edition AD&D, dragons explicitly did cast spells without somatic components, but that bit of info didn't get carried into Third and later editions, so GMs were forced to invent their own explanations. –  GMJoe Jul 17 '13 at 4:36
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.