Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I brew a potion of lightning bolt, what happens when someone drinks it?

  • Lightning bolt strikes them?
  • They can cast a lightning bolt?
  • They emit lightning that strikes where they point?
  • Nothing happens?

Same thing with vampiric touch: Would the consumer covert their hit points to temporary hit points? Would that mean that drinking a healing potion after the potion of vampiric touch gives the character full hp + temporary hp without touching anyone?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 18 down vote accepted

A potion of Lightning Bolt would not be a legal potion. The Feat Brew Potion states which spells can be turned into potions:

You can create a potion of any 3rd-level or lower spell that you know and that targets one or more creatures.

Lightning Bolt doesn't have a Target, only a Range and Area.

If you allow potions of Lightning Bolt anyway, the most likely way that they would work would be to hit the imbiber with a lightning bolt. Whether or not it hits any other targets would be pure DM fiat.

Bonus 1: An unconscious person drinking any potion has teh same effect as a conscious person drinking that potion.

Vampiric Touch is a valid spell to put into a potion, since it targets a creature.

The rules on potions state:

The drinker of a potion is both the effective target and the caster of the effect

It works just as you say; you drink the potion, take damage, gain temporary HP, and then can heal yourself back up to full with the extra temporary HP.

Bonus 2: There isn't anything specific on this that I can find, but it's likely that you can put metamagic feats on potions, as long as the total spell level is less than 3. For example, you could Empower a first level spell, since the total spell level is 3. Quicken definitely wouldn't work, however: you're not casting a spell, you're drinking a potion. The spell's casting time is totally ignored, and replaced with the standard action to drink a potion.

Bonus 3: By RAW, no. It is a standard action to drink a potion, and there's no RAW way to dump a bunch of potions in one tub to drink more quickly. Houserules on this are common, but it basically comes down to what your DM agrees to.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.