If a caster readies an action to cast the spell silence next to an enemy wizard who begins casting a spell with a verbal component, what happens?
- The silence interrupts the casting attempt, causing the spell and action to be wasted
- Or, the wizard has a chance to recognize the silence effect, and can abort casting; choosing instead to perform a different action. (Perhaps even moving out of the silenced area and casting the spell there.)
The rules about readying an action say that
The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character’s activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action.
But they seem silent on what happens if they can't continue their action. Of course, it is explicitly possible to distract a caster by damaging them.
You can ready an attack against a spellcaster with the trigger "if she starts casting a spell." If you damage the spellcaster, she may lose the spell she was trying to cast (as determined by her Concentration check result).
I think my house rule would be to allow aborting a spell with a concentration check, since that seems most consistent with the rest of the rules. But I'm curious if there's a strict interpretation of the RAW here.