Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I've read somewhere in the Internet (in a Divine Metamagic build) that having levels as Cleric and Paladin lets you have twice thee turn undead attempts per day.

Is that true?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 13 down vote accepted

No.

Shockingly, the rules specifically address this. Looking at the rules for multiclass characters:

Class Features: A multiclass character gets all the class features of all his or her classes but must also suffer the consequences of the special restrictions of all his or her classes. (Exception: A character who acquires the barbarian class does not become illiterate.)

In the special case of turning undead, both clerics and experienced paladins have the same ability. If the character’s paladin level is 4th or higher, her effective turning level is her cleric level plus her paladin level minus 3.

I'd think that this makes it pretty clear that you get the ability only once (and thus have one set of turning attempts), but add your levels together to find your effective turning level.

In case you think this is ambiguous, the wording about familiars is much the same:

In the special case of obtaining a familiar, both wizards and sorcerers have the same ability. A sorcerer/wizard stacks his sorcerer and wizard levels to determine the familiar’s natural armor, Intelligence score, and special abilities.

Here it is clear that the words "have the same ability" are intended to mean that you are only granted the ability once. Otherwise a sorcerer/wizard would have two familiars, not the one implied by the second sentence.

share|improve this answer
    
I do agree, however... is there anything RAW? –  Zachiel Sep 7 '12 at 14:00
    
I don't understand -- this is the RAW. It is telling you that you are only granted the class feature once. The number of turning attempts you have is dictated by this class feature. You don't get it again from your second class, so you don't get any more turning attempts. –  starwed Sep 7 '12 at 18:42
    
The RAW you quoted does not answer the question, except by deduction. I only see rules about the powerfullness of the checks. However, it looks like it's the closest thing I can get. Accepted. –  Zachiel Sep 9 '12 at 13:46
    
This answer was very confusing because the first line isn't clear that it's answering the question in the body rather than the much more obvious question in the subject. Since the answer to the subject is "Yes", this is very confusing. –  Bacon Bits Dec 29 '12 at 3:49
    
Hmm? The answer to the title is also NO, given the context of the body. They're not different questions. I guess if you read the title without reading the body you might assume something else, but that'll lead you astray pretty often... –  starwed Dec 30 '12 at 23:33
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.