Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm confused here. It is written "You may choose either Bluff or Diplomacy as a class skill, and gain a +2 bonus on such skill checks." So, how it works with regular class skills?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

RAW, it means that you add Bluff or Diplomacy -your choice- to your class skills (check the corresponding box), and gain a +2 (to write in the Misc. Mod column of your sheet) to the skill. If both are already class skills, well, that's something the trait won't bring you. You still get the +2 though. Since it is considered a class skill, you also get the corresponding +3 bonus if you put ranks in it.

share|improve this answer
And when it is a class skill (for that race trait only) it means, i will get next +3 bonus when i put here rank? Even if it is not regular class skill from a class? – Ryoto Sep 12 '12 at 10:26
Yes. You get the +3 bonus from the first rank you put in a skill that is considered a class skill at that time. This also works when multiclassing. I'll edit to reflect that. – Nigralbus Sep 12 '12 at 12:38

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.