Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can my Sorcerer use a rapier without the penalty of -4, when I have racial proficiency in it from being Drow?

share|improve this question
up vote 11 down vote accepted

Yes. The penalty is for only for non-proficiency. It doesn't matter where the proficiency comes from.

share|improve this answer
Correct; your character gains both racial and class proficiencies. – Doktor J Mar 22 '14 at 1:50

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.