Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

You can take 10 when you make a skill roll "When your character is not in immediate danger or distracted".

Would this include when a character is making a magical item?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 10 down vote accepted

Yes.

There is a nice discussion of this very topic here.

You can take 10 any time you are not rushed or distracted. It counts as your one roll and takes no extra time. Use this when an average roll should suffice to let you succeed, but a low roll would fail.

On the other hand, Take 20 is something to choose only if you have enough time (takes 20x as long), and when there is no significant penalty for failure (you take all penalties before you are successful).

Taking 10 and Taking 20 - from d20pfsrd

The real question is whether you have enough ranks and skill points to beat the DC for your magic item with a 10 - easy to do with lower CL items, of course.

share|improve this answer
    
I would also not be surprised, however, if a GM decided not to allow Take 10 for certain uses, even when a straight read of the rule book doesn't restrict the use. :) –  Tyri Sep 21 '12 at 18:13
    
I get the impression, after poking around a variety of forums, that the system is designed to make magic item creation easy for those that invest in feats and who have all the prerequisites. It is also apparently designed to make the same items possible but difficult and expensive for others to create. –  Tyri Sep 21 '12 at 22:57
add comment

Yes,
you can take 10 on that check under normal conditions.

As opposed to taking 20, because in that case there is the additional requirements that the performed check must bear non consequence on a failed test. On the specific topic of creating a magic item, failing the check by 5 or more results in a cursed item.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.