Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I only just noticed this particular rule in PHB p. 284:

Same Move Action: To double move, you have to take the same move action twice in a row on the same turn.

What is the reason for this specification?

How (and how much) does it affect/break the game if a player uses different move actions for Double Move?

share|improve this question
    
Doesn't that wording mean that you can use two identical move-only actions twice? (Can't fly AND THEN run, can't teleport AND THEN glide, or move to switch AND THEN pull lever.) –  B.A. Thomas Sep 25 '12 at 18:18
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 21 down vote accepted

You can still spend your Standard Action on a second Move Action without using the Double Move. ("Substituting Actions", Player's Handbook p. 268).

The Double Move is a specific action where you effectively combine two identical Move Actions to one movement. This is only beneficial in a few cases, usually the following:

  • When you use Athletics to jump, and the first movement would leave you in mid-air, you can spend your Standard Action to make it a Double Move to complete the jump in one fluid motion.
  • When your movement speed is an odd number and it is halved by difficult terrain, you waste the last square of movement because halves are round down. Double Move lets you add together the two halves and squeeze out an extra square of movement.
  • If you want to move twice but can't because the first movement would end on the same square as an ally, a Double Move lets you do it because you don't stop in the ally's square.
share|improve this answer
4  
+1 those are awesome examples I'd never realized. –  F. Randall Farmer Sep 24 '12 at 21:38
    
I had misunderstood the role of Double Move. Thanks for the clarifications and tips! –  Ravn Sep 30 '12 at 17:57
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.