Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Does he fall prone or is he simply placed in an adjacent square?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

The rider falls prone in an adjacent square

From the DMG and the Rules Compendium[ddi]

Falling Prone: If the mount falls prone, the rider is dismounted and falls prone in an unoccupied space of the rider’s choice adjacent to the now-prone mount. However, if the mount is flying when it is knocked prone, it instead falls. The rider isn’t dismounted unless the mount lands and falls prone itself. A rider who is knocked prone can immediately make a saving throw. On a roll of 9 or lower, the rider is dismounted and falls prone in an unoccupied space of the rider’s choice adjacent to the mount. On a roll of 10 or higher, the rider is neither dismounted nor knocked prone. A rider who voluntarily drops prone falls prone in an unoccupied space of the rider’s choice adjacent to the mount.

share|improve this answer
1  
Wait, no damage? –  Vorac Sep 26 '12 at 14:33
    
No damage is called for under the rules as written (other than that required by the falling distance, in the case of a flying mount.) –  F. Randall Farmer Sep 27 '12 at 0:55
    
Wasn't sure if the mount dying counted as falling prone. Thanks for the clarification! –  Ravn Sep 30 '12 at 18:01

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.