Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A half-elf uses Knack for Success on a Ranger, who then uses Split the Tree:

Knack for Success: The target gains a +2 power bonus to his next attack roll [...]"

Split the Tree: Make two attack rolls, take the higher result, and apply it to both targets.

What happens?

  1. The ranger rolls one d20 and adds the +2, then rolls the second one and takes the higher result.
  2. The dice are rolled at the same time and both gain the +2.
  3. The dice are rolled at the same time and the ranger applies the +2 to the higher.
share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

In the case of split the tree it only applies to the first (this is an odd one because you do make two attack roles, but use the higher, whereas with say an avenger you roll twice for the attack).

Your first case is what happens in the case of Split the tree. Your second (and third, they're functionally equivalent) case applies in role twice take highest situations.

share|improve this answer
    
Is "roll twice = rolls two dice simultaneously" specified anywhere? If not, it sounds like it could be interpreted as "roll one die, then a second one". –  Ravn Sep 30 '12 at 17:59
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.