Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Does the alternative effect of a wizard's Orb of Imposition [ddi], i.e. the extension of a duration, also only affect one creature?

A player is wondering if the Slow effect of Stone Blood [ddi] could be extended for all the creatures in the burst.

Effect: You can use your orb to gain one of the following two effects.

You can designate one creature you have cast a wizard spell upon that has an effect that lasts until the subject succeeds on a saving throw. That creature takes a penalty to its next saving throw against that effect equal to your Wisdom modifier.

Alternatively, you can choose to extend the duration of an effect created by a wizard at-will spell (such as cloud of daggers or ray of frost) that would otherwise end at the end of your current turn. The effect instead ends at the end of your next turn.

And Stone Blood:

At-Will Arcane, Implement, Transmutation
Standard Action Area burst 1 within 10 squares
Target: Each creature in the burst
Attack: Intelligence vs. Fortitude
Hit: 1d6 + Intelligence modifier damage, and the target is slowed until the end of your next turn.

share|improve this question
I'd have a better chance in answering these questions if you just included the relevant parts of the description rather than linking DDI. – okeefe Sep 30 '12 at 17:29
Err ... I thought I had put the Effect text in my question ?? – SteveC Sep 30 '12 at 17:45
Yes, but I only know what Stone Blood is because your put the relevant text in another question. – okeefe Sep 30 '12 at 17:58
DOH ... see what mean ... sorry – SteveC Sep 30 '12 at 18:03
up vote 4 down vote accepted


Of course, because of no saving throw is involved we are talking about the second option of Orb of Imposition.

Stone Blood is a Wizard at-will power, so it is a viable choice. It also has an effect that lasts until the end of the caster's next turn. In this case the effect is to slow every creature hit by the power.

It is a de facto enhanced version of Ray of Frost (with the exception of damage and school keywords and the possibility for friendly fire) which is explicitly listed as a viable choice in the Orb of Imposition text.

share|improve this answer

As it seems, nothing in the game text restricts the effect to one creature.

share|improve this answer
Could you explain why? I don't disagree but this kind of answer provides very little actual value. – wax eagle Sep 30 '12 at 21:41
I can't think of anything more to say? Where did the "affect one creature" restriction come up? Only from the question itself—nowhere in the game text. Hence there's no such restriction. – okeefe Oct 1 '12 at 6:13
@edgerunner Thanks! – okeefe Oct 1 '12 at 18:42

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.