Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If a creature can shift more than one square, can it move through opponents? (This matters with abilities like Tumble or creatures that can shift more than 1 square.)

share|improve this question
2  
This is unanswerable without editing. What game are you referring to? –  TimLymington Oct 21 '12 at 19:27
2  
Hello, Jermu, and welcome to the site! I've edited your question to help make it clearer; if this isn't what you meant then feel free to edit further. (And when you get a moment please read our FAQ.) @TimLymington: Presumably D&D 4. Tagged appropriately. –  Tynam Oct 21 '12 at 20:01
    
Usually in RPs a creature can move though 1 ally or attempt to move around opponents, but can't usually move through them (unless movement is magical e.g. a teleport spell) –  MavericktheBroken1 Oct 22 '12 at 14:55
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 9 down vote accepted

No, unless another rule provides an exception that allows it.

A shift is just a type of move that doesn't provoke an opportunity attack. As such, you can't move through enemy squares unless the enemy is helpless or two size categories larger or smaller than you.

share|improve this answer
    
Check out the D&D quick-start guide wizards.com/dnd/files/quickstartrules.pdf 3 simple rules –  Joshua Aslan Smith Oct 22 '12 at 16:46
1  
A rule that provides an exception that allows it (Epic Tier though): Flanking Maneuver - You can move diagonally even if a wall corner normally blocks such movement. You can move through enemies’ spaces. You provoke opportunity attacks for this movement as normal. You can’t end your move in an enemy’s space. –  Lunin Oct 22 '12 at 23:54
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.