Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The barbarian rage power "Come and Get me" States:

While raging, as a free action the barbarian may leave herself open to attack while preparing devastating counterattacks. Enemies gain a +4 bonus on attack and damage rolls against the barbarian until the beginning of her next turn, but every attack against the barbarian provokes an attack of opportunity from her, which is resolved prior to resolving each enemy attack.

Does this power require you to have the Combat Reflexes ability to use more than one attack of opportunity? Or does this override that need?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

Yes, you require Combat Reflexes feat to use more than one attack of opportunity. Come and Get Me has no language to suggest it is the exception to the rule.

I have checked the Come and Get Me power and compared its language with the language in the description of AoO and I have read "provoking an attack of opportunity" and "making an attack of opportunity" are not quite the same.

Come and Get Me makes it so that anyone who attacks you provokes an attack of opportunity in the same way they would provoke an attack of opportunity for moving out of a threatened square.

To make multiple attacks of opportunity you would need the combat reflexes feat.

Another way of looking at it is that characters still "provokes" an attack of opportunity even if the character being "provoked" has no more attacks of opportunity this round or chooses not to take the attack of opportunity.

share|improve this answer
So without Combat Reflexes, I can attack one person as many times as they attack me, but can't do another person, unless I take combat reflexes? – RuleofThree Oct 21 '12 at 23:30
No, you have one attack of opportunity per turn. – Robobot Oct 21 '12 at 23:33
Err, I mean you have one attack of opportunity per round. – Robobot Oct 21 '12 at 23:35
That is most unpleasant...seems like a waste of a rage power now that you are required to dip into Combat Reflexes as well. The damage potential seems considerably less – RuleofThree Oct 21 '12 at 23:40
@RuleofThree another way of stating that is "it's a great rage power addition to build on a Combat Reflexes build." The design intent of every little bit isn't "I should be able to take that with any character!"... – mxyzplk Oct 22 '12 at 12:07

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.