Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If a goliath takes "Natural Intimidator" which notes that they only fail intimidate rolls if they fail by more than 5, and tries to intimidate someone in a skill challenge where intimidation "automatically fails" what happens?

  1. The skill challenge is considered to be more specific than the feat, and therefore the intimidate check automatically fails and the player is pelted with dice.
  2. The feat text is considered to be more specific than the skill challenge, and the character may attempt to intimidate normally, though her companions cannot.
share|improve this question

I think in this case because it's an auto fail (even a 20 isn't going to get you a success here), it's going to be a fail.

In this case the DC of an intimidate check is ~infinity and thus any attempt is a failure of >5.

share|improve this answer
Well, it's a question of which is a more "specific" rule. – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Oct 23 '12 at 3:13
@BrianBallsun-Stanton I think that autofailure is more specific than failure by >5. – wax eagle Oct 23 '12 at 12:35

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.