Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I know the rules for TFD in 3.5 mention it can carry anything within its weight limit and can be directed by the caster within its range limits, but are there any rules about actually riding Tenser's Disk? I realize the capabilities implications of travel by hovering disk would probably be DM's call, but in general what's the consensus on using the TFD for self-transport?

share|improve this question
And in case people are wondering, I just expect to use this for relatively simple stuff like hovering over shallow water, improv sledding, and possibly tightrope crossing. I am aware there is only so much you can do with something that takes you up to 3ft off the ground. – Cobalt Oct 24 '12 at 0:47
I assume you mean ride your own TFD. You should be able to ride someone else's just fine! – mxyzplk Oct 24 '12 at 3:07
up vote 12 down vote accepted

No, you can not ride a Tenser's Floating Disk.

There is a definitive, and official answer from the WoTC 3.5 FAQ (Pg. 91);

Can you ride your own Tenser’s floating disk?
No. While you could command your Tenser’s floating disk to move close enough for you to sit upon it, it has no ability to move under its own power. It can follow you only at a maximum rate equal to your normal speed.

I would not say that being able to ride the disk is game-breaking or overpowered. Another first level spell exists called Mount that is comparable to Tenser's floating disk. Depending on your need, maybe better. It is also a first level wizard spell. There is nothign to stop you from loading up your mount with jewels or gear, like you would a Floating Disk. You can also compare it to the spell Levitate, which is a second level spell that allows you to float 20-ft. from the ground. There exists a 4th level spell called Greater Floating Disk (Spell Compendium, Pg. 96) which has a fly-speed of 20-ft. and specifically says in the spell description that it allows characters to sit on it and ride it.

share|improve this answer

You could certainly ride it, it just has no propulsion of its own. So by itself, it wouldn't do much good, and certainly wouldn't be equivalent to a mount. But there are still some uses. For instance, my wizard in the Skulls and Shackles campaign (Pathfinder, but close enough) used a Floating Disk with a long pole cut from a sapling as a skiff to cross a swamp.

share|improve this answer

As others have pointed out, it has no propulsion of its own, merely following the caster around. However if you have a familiar with the share spells ability, you can cast spells with a range of self on your familiar ( This includes Tenser's Floating Disk (

Because of this, cast the spell on your familiar then you can ride the disk while your familiar walks, crawls or flies around. They have to stay fairly low, but if they're fine with low flying you can get a pretty significant speed boost, as well as retaining your movement action each round by investing in a hawk familiar (60ft fly speed) or similar.

share|improve this answer

To those of you who say it has no form of propulsion, I refer you to the text "You can command the disk to move up to your speed as a move action." I see no reason why you couldn't command it to move while you are on top of it.

share|improve this answer
According to the Wizards of the Coast FAQ post in the answer above, this is not entirely true. The Disk can only be moved relative to its caster; you can't move the disk while you're on top of it for pretty much the same reason you can't pick up a bucket you're currently standing in. – Cobalt Jun 15 '15 at 21:39
but it's Maaaagic, come oooon! lol. Either way you are moving it solely with the power of your mind, I don't see why you cant do that while you are on it. if you attempted to make it run into you, would it not still push you? the force is coming from the magic you are using to move it. – guest Jun 15 '15 at 21:56
Could you provide a reference to where you're finding this text? The version on the SRD doesn't mention being able to spend an action to move the disk. – DuckTapeAl Jun 15 '15 at 21:59
oh, actually it may have been added in 4th edition. my bad. – guest Jun 15 '15 at 22:02
Aha. Quoting rules from the wrong edition generally gets a lot of downvotes around here. I'd suggest either significantly editing your answer so it addresses 3.5, or deleting it. If you delete it, those downvotes will disappear. – DuckTapeAl Jun 15 '15 at 22:35

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.