Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm running a Pathfinder game for a few friends (using core + UM + UC + APG). Last session the party thief said that he was planning on buying a called anchoring adamantium axe. What I want to know is why he would want an axe with such a peculiar combination of enchantments.

Called is pretty useful on its own, and I can see how anchoring might help in some situations, but I really can't fathom why he would want a weapon with both properties (and an axe, at that; he was very specific about wanting an axe).

share|improve this question
8  
have you tried to ask him? –  Colin D Nov 16 '12 at 18:57
    
Whatever it is, it may run afoul of the calling and anchoring requiring two separate swift actions. –  mxyzplk Nov 16 '12 at 19:27

6 Answers 6

It's possible the rogue thought that he'd also have difficulty removing the weapon once it was anchored to someone. Called would fix that issue.

share|improve this answer
up vote 4 down vote accepted

Unfortunately, it was nothing spectacular that he was planning. Just using the axe to pin people and anchoring them so they can't move.

I believe he was under the impression that he could throw it at an enemy, anchor them, then use calling to bring it back. However, as explained by DuckTapeal above, this will not work

share|improve this answer
    
You're the GM. You have the power to allow the throw-pin to work, and it sounds like a cool idea. –  Gustav Bertram May 14 at 9:12
    
That's true, but I prefer to stick to the rules as written as much as possible, unless I think there's a good reason to do otherwise. –  Meta May 14 at 16:47
    
There is one compelling reason, namely fun. –  Gustav Bertram May 15 at 8:47

There are two possibilities that I can see with that combo:

  • Bringing enemies closer: This has been discussed several times by other posted, so I won't go into much detail. Basically, you throw the axe, use anchoring to make it stick, then use calling to pull the enemy back to you with the axe still attached. This does not work. Anchoring cannot be used while throwing a weapon. From the text of the ability:

As a swift action, the weapon can be fixed in place in a point in space, functioning as an immovable rod. This ability can also be used when the wielder hits a creature with a melee attack using an anchoring weapon.

Since you can't (typically) activate an item if it's not in your possession, you can't use either activation condition of anchoring with a throw.

  • Crowd Control: This is the option that I feel is more likely. Basically, use the axe as a way to keep enemies in place while you and your party go to town on them. If the enemy gets out, call the axe back and do it again. If your enemy doesn't have a ranged weapon and the party does, then the enemy either needs to destroy the weapon or make a DC 30 Str check to get to the players. Adamantine has a hardness of 20, so very little will be able to destroy the axe.

I really think that calling is there just so the player can get the axe back in a hurry if need be. The fact that it's specifically an axe is most likely mechanically inconsequential; as others have said here, it's probably as much preference as anything.

share|improve this answer

Just a wild idea. I don't know much about Pathfinder, but I read the description of the enchantments... considering that the PC is a thief, what about this?

"The PC wants to steal something that is guarded by a single monster/NPC he cannot defeat alone... so he intends to throw (is this throwable?) the axe from a safe distance... if it hits, the guardian is pinned, allowing him to steal the object, then recall the weapon from a safe distance - if it misses... he can (I suppose) recall the axe in his hand and try again (supposing that he can do from a place where the guardian cannot reach him)."

Can you think of some thievery scenario where this plan could work?


Another possibility (assuming the PC is really interested in playing a Thief, even if I understand this is not the case, I am adding this to my answer as an inspiration to others):

I suppose that the axe+a rope could also be useful as a sort of grappling hook? Throw it against a (wooden?) balcony or beam, climb up, steal, climb down, teleport back to your hand...

share|improve this answer
1  
You said he is not really caring much about the thief part so this is probably moot, but I suppose that the axe+a rope could also be useful as a sort of grappling hook? Throw it against a (wooden?) balcony or beam, climb up, steal, climb down, teleport back to your hand... –  p.marino Nov 19 '12 at 15:56
    
Great speculation, and a pretty handy/novel use of such an item. However, this is a player who took 7 levels in rogue, 2 levels in Shadow Dancer, and then wanted to take another 3 levels in Sorcerer. In short... He is not a clever man. –  Meta Nov 19 '12 at 16:10

Trying to think outside the box in a game breaking way I came up with the following:

The character hits the target with a thrown attack and anchors the target. He then calls the weapon back to him without releasing the anchor. As the target is fixed to the weapon it is teleported back to the character along with the weapon.

I wouldn't allow it but I can see the argument. Called specifically says it comes even if held by another creature. Normally only the item comes back via calling but as the target is "stuck" to it, it has to come along as well.

The biggest problem with this is Anchored says the weapon remains motionless but the player may claim that teleportation isn't motion just instantaneous relocation.

share|improve this answer

The Axe part is probably down to preference. Maybe he's seen an image somewhere he wants to replicate. There's also the possibility he wants to be able to use the blade of the axe as a step using the anchoring property.

Combining those two qualities is useful. One scenario I can imagine for a thief is getting caught by a guard, hitting him with the axe, escaping and finally calling the axe back to him.

It also has plenty of tactical applications for holding high defence enemies in place while the party deals with softer targets.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.