Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Does an Outsider gain the Native subtype while on its home plane, and if so, what does that mean, exactly?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

The confusion comes from the word "Native", which is a bit misleading. The description is:

Native Subtype

This subtype is applied only to outsiders. These creatures have mortal ancestors or a strong connection to the Material Plane and can be raised, reincarnated, or resurrected just as other living creatures can be. Creatures with this subtype are native to the Material Plane. Unlike true outsiders, native outsiders need to eat and sleep.

(emphasis mine)

So "Native" means "Native of the material plane" rather than "Native from the current plane". As the Material plane works differently than outside planes, Native Outsiders are somehow "less Outsiders" than "real Outsiders".

An Outsider not from the Material Plane would then not get the Native subtype while on its home plane.

share|improve this answer
2  
Correct. @Zach may be looking for the "extraplanar" subtype, which does come and go depending on whether someone's on their home plane or not - see d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/rules-for-monsters/… –  mxyzplk Nov 19 '12 at 2:13
    
I remember reading someone's remark that the "Native" subtype should really be renamed the "Mortal" subtype, since it's the eat-sleep-resurrect bit that's important. I tend to treat it that way in my games. –  GMJoe Nov 19 '12 at 6:33
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.