I'm not sure how to generalize this question, so I'll give the specific example my player is concerned with. Hope it's not too chatty.
A monk, adjacent to a single enemy, lands an attack such as
Crane's Wings [Attack Technique] on that enemy. Its hit line reads:
Hit: 1d10 + Dexterity modifier damage, and you push the target 1 square.
The monk wishes to maximize his damage by using
Centered Flurry of Blows against that same enemy.
Centered Flurry of Blows No Action Melee 1
Trigger: You hit with an attack during your turn
Effect: The target takes damage equal to 2 + your Wisdom modifier, and you slide it 1 square to a square adjacent to you, or 1 square in any direction if the target wasn’t targeted by the triggering attack.
Can the monk use the successful Crane's Wings hit to trigger Centered Flurry (no action, "Trigger: You hit with an attack during your turn"), and target the enemy hit by Crane's Wings?
The monk's player argues that, as a "no action" power, Flurry can trigger off the successful attack before the attack's effect (hit line) is applied.
The counterargument is that the attack's hit line effects are applied before the Flurry has a chance to trigger off the hit, so the target is pushed out of range and the Flurry cannot be triggered without a target in range.
We agree that if it were a free action or immediate reaction the answer would be clearly "no" because Flurry has a range of "Melee 1" and when the hit effect is applied the target gets pushed out of range--but in this case I honestly don't know, and am getting flashbacks to when they change the "interrupt" rules in Magic: the Gathering.