Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

So according to the book, the two weapons fighting rules applied to thrown weapons are:

The same rules apply when you throw a weapon from each hand. Treat a dart or shuriken as a light weapons when used in this manner, and treat a bolas, javelin, net, or sling as a one-handed weapon

However, there have been many more thrown weapons published since them (Chakrams for example, boomerangs). Just looking at the Fighter's "Thrown" category for Weapon Training:

Thrown: aklys, amentum, atlatl, blowgun, bolas, boomerang, chakram, club, dagger, dart, halfling sling staff, harpoon, hunga munga, javelin, lasso, kestros, light hammer, net, poisoned sand tube, rope dart, Shoanti bolas, shortspear, shuriken, sling, sling glove, spear, starknife, throwing axe, throwing shield, trident, and wushu dart.

Is there a place saying what is considered a light thrown weapon, and what is considered a one-hand thrown weapon?

edit: if possible, I would really love having some RAW rather than houserules.

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

Looking at the weapon descriptions (Pathfinder Core, Open Game Content), anything that has a Range is a thrown weapon (discounting projectile weapons like crossbows and bolts). Light and one-handed weapons are subcategories in those tables.

share|improve this answer
    
But that doesn't take into account weapons that are only in the Ranged Weapons subcategory, like hunga-munga, boomerang.. –  Cristol.GdM Nov 26 '12 at 1:48
    
Hunga munga is described as a dagger, so use a dagger as reference. Boomerang is described as neither light nor one-handed so is neither. –  okeefe Nov 26 '12 at 3:30
    
So it's only through houseruling then, no official rules? Let's say I want to throw two boomerangs and have Two-Weapons Fighting, what happens? –  Cristol.GdM Nov 26 '12 at 18:00
    
TWF on thrown weapons: The same rules apply when you throw a weapon from each hand. Treat a dart or shuriken as a light weapon when used in this manner, and treat a bolas, javelin, net, or sling as a one-handed weapon. So you would need agreement that a boomerang counts as one-handed, which seems reasonable. However, if it's not a light weapon, the penalties are -4 and -4 instead of the -2 and -2 for a light off-hand weapon. –  okeefe Nov 26 '12 at 19:01
    
Actually, the only issue I have is that I was expecting some RAW rather than houserules (edited the question to take into account). Although if it is sure that there is absolutely no extended rule regarding Thrown weapons size, then... –  Cristol.GdM Nov 29 '12 at 21:29
show 1 more comment

I would suggest going by weight and damage die. A dart weighs 1/2 lb., and deals 1d4, and is treated as a light weapon. A javelin weighs 2 lbs. and deals 1d6, and is treated as a one-handed weapon. A boomerang weighs 3 lbs., and deals 1d6, so I would assume that it counts as a one-handed weapon.

Alternatively, you could state that any item that has a chance to be destroyed after use (or, in other words, counts as 'ammunition' when determining if you can retrieve it) would be considered a light weapon. Darts and shuriken are both defined in this way, and count as light weapons, though I can not be sure this is an official ruling.

share|improve this answer
    
The problem with using just weight is that unwieldiness of the weapon should be taken into account, in my opinion. –  okeefe Nov 29 '12 at 21:35
1  
Which is why I suggested weight And damage die. If the damage die were larger, then it would mean that the weapon has more potential for damage, but also reflects a greater difficulty to wield. Thus why martial weapons deal more damage than simple weapons. –  Zach Nov 30 '12 at 7:47
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.