Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I at least know that Wizards get to use level-0 spells an unlimited number of times a day, but is this a class feature, or are all cantrips unlimited use? I ask this because some spontaneous spellcasting classes still have a limited number of slots for level 0 spells, even if they aren't capable of learning that many spells of that level, and was wondering if they are limited use for those classes.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 27 down vote accepted

No, and wizards don't either.

Wizards learn all cantrips available to them automatically, but they are restricted by their prepared spell slots per day in cantrips as with every other level of spell. This slots-per-day limit is true of all other casters (spontaneous or prepared-type) with access to 0-level spells of any sort; the advantage wizards get is only in knowing all of the cantrips, not in being able to use them as often as they like.

[NB: Both Pathfinder and 5e do implement unlimited cantrips, which may be a source of confusion.]

share|improve this answer
    
It may be worth noting that for PF and 5e, all spellcasters with access to cantrips/orisons have unlimited casting of them (answering @Coblat 's question in case he did mean to ask about PF or 5e...). –  G0BLiN Nov 2 at 12:32
    
(Maybe it's just me?) I'll try to clarify: The final sentence notify that PF and 5e use unlimited cantrips (without explicitly addressing which classes enjoy that). That sentence could also inform that in those editions, all casters - rather then just wizards - have unlimited cantrips (which answers what the OP asks). There's nothing wrong with your answer, just thought that addressing that bit may improve it a little... :) –  G0BLiN Nov 2 at 15:25
2  
It seems fine as is. This answer shouldn't be expected to be comprehensive about what supports which features how in other editions, because that's irrelevant to the D&D 3.5e scenario. Further that risks that final sentence becoming unnecessarily detailed (for this question) in order to remain accurate, or being misleading. Let's just not go there. It's a tangential mention that the feature exists in other editions, not a guidebook to other editions. Let's leave it at that. (If someone wants to know more, they can ask about it or research it.) –  doppelgreener Nov 2 at 16:31

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.