Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I at least know that Wizards get to use level-0 spells an unlimited number of times a day, but is this a class feature, or are all cantrips unlimited use? I ask this because some spontaneous spellcasting classes still have a limited number of slots for level 0 spells, even if they aren't capable of learning that many spells of that level, and was wondering if they are limited use for those classes.

share|improve this question
    
Is this for 3.5 or pathfinder? –  Brian Ballsun-Stanton Nov 29 '12 at 4:14
    
3.5, as noted in the tags. –  Cobalt Nov 29 '12 at 4:15
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 13 down vote accepted

No, and wizards don't either.

Wizards learn all cantrips available to them automatically, but they are restricted by their prepared spell slots per day in cantrips as with every other level of spell. This slots-per-day limit is true of all other casters (spontaneous or prepared-type) with access to 0-level spells of any sort; the advantage wizards get is only in knowing all of the cantrips, not in being able to use them as often as they like.

share|improve this answer
    
Ah. Must have been mixing with Pathfinder, then. –  Cobalt Nov 29 '12 at 4:35
1  
@Cobalt - You are correct, Pathfinder introduced unlimited cantrips. –  Cthos Nov 29 '12 at 4:37
3  
Makes a good rule if you ask me; gives casting-focused classes something to fall back on once their good slots are spent. –  Cobalt Nov 29 '12 at 4:42
    
Exept Cantrips are largely useless later on and only some of them have roleplaying applications. –  Novian Jul 8 '13 at 21:17
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.