Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I at least know that Wizards get to use level-0 spells an unlimited number of times a day, but is this a class feature, or are all cantrips unlimited use? I ask this because some spontaneous spellcasting classes still have a limited number of slots for level 0 spells, even if they aren't capable of learning that many spells of that level, and was wondering if they are limited use for those classes.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 25 down vote accepted

No, and wizards don't either.

Wizards learn all cantrips available to them automatically, but they are restricted by their prepared spell slots per day in cantrips as with every other level of spell. This slots-per-day limit is true of all other casters (spontaneous or prepared-type) with access to 0-level spells of any sort; the advantage wizards get is only in knowing all of the cantrips, not in being able to use them as often as they like.

[NB: Both Pathfinder and 5e do implement unlimited cantrips, which may be a source of confusion.]

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.