Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

How often do I roll power recharge rolls and at which point in a turn do I re-roll them?

I'm trying to find the official definition of the recharge mechanic in the online compendium and I'm not seeing it there.

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 5 down vote accepted

You Roll Once per Turn, at the Start of the Monster's Turn

Monster Manual glossary explains recharge:

The power has a random chance of recharging during each round of combat. At the start of the monster’s turn, roll 1d6. If the roll is one of the die results shown, the power is recharged and the monster can use it again that turn. The power also recharges after a short rest.

You would roll it whenever you resolve the "start of turn" phase of each monster, at the same time, for example, as it takes ongoing damage. You roll once for each power that has been used; if the monster has not used the power, you do not roll to recharge it. You can't "bank" multiple charges.

EDIT: I should note that in more recent publications (eg: Rules Compendium) the explanation was change from "start of the monster's turn" to "start of each of the monster's turns", clarifying that you do roll to recharge each turn for a monster that takes multiple turns in a round.

share|improve this answer
    
Beat me by 30 seconds –  MrJinPengyou Nov 30 '12 at 18:40
2  
That's 5 whole rounds of combat! 5 rolls to recharge! ;) –  Soulrift Nov 30 '12 at 18:41
    
Thanks, I had seen it as such on discussion boards, but I wanted the quote and figured that this wouldn't be a bad question for SE since its not in the compendium at all. –  Joshua Aslan Smith Nov 30 '12 at 18:46
    
One important thing to note is that, like everything else, it is up to the DM's discretion to follow the rules or not. It is perfectly acceptable to consider the roll numbers a rarity number and just use the powers accordingly in the way that best suits the drama of the battle. –  DampeS8N Dec 3 '12 at 17:02
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.