Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

How often should I roll power recharge rolls and at which point in the monster's turn do I re-roll them?

I'm trying to find the official definition of the recharge mechanic in the online compendium and I'm not seeing it there.

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

You Roll Once per Turn, at the Start of the Monster's Turn

Monster Manual glossary explains recharge:

The power has a random chance of recharging during each round of combat. At the start of the monster’s turn, roll 1d6. If the roll is one of the die results shown, the power is recharged and the monster can use it again that turn. The power also recharges after a short rest.

You would roll it whenever you resolve the "start of turn" phase of each monster, at the same time, for example, as it takes ongoing damage. You roll once for each power that has been used; if the monster has not used the power, you do not roll to recharge it. You can't "bank" multiple charges.

EDIT: I should note that in more recent publications (eg: Rules Compendium) the explanation was change from "start of the monster's turn" to "start of each of the monster's turns", clarifying that you do roll to recharge each turn for a monster that takes multiple turns in a round.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.