Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When I cast Stealth or Invisibility on a teammate, do I need to keep him in sight (following him everywhere) to maintain the spell, or is LOS required only for the initial casting?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 11 down vote accepted

From Shadowrun FAQ:

Do you need to maintain line of sight (or touch, with Touch range spells) to sustain a spell? What about Permanent spells?

A spell requires a magical link (touch, sight, material link, symbolic link, etc.) to cast. There is, however, no requirement for the magician to maintain touch or line-of-sight while maintaining the spell, as the link between caster and spell is already in effect. By the same principle, you do not need to maintain touch or line of sight when casting a Permanent spell; the spell must simply be maintained until the spell’s effects become permanent.

One of the exceptions is when moving around an area-effect spell, cf Core rules:

If an area-effect spell is sustained, the affected area may be moved with a Complex action, as long as it remains within line of sight.

share|improve this answer
1  
The wording on area-effect implies that it's only moving it to the new destination that requires line-of-sight to be maintained, not that the caster must keep the (current) destination in sight. Is that correct? –  Clockwork-Muse Nov 30 '12 at 21:55
    
Thank you very much! –  Felipe Nov 30 '12 at 21:57
    
In the same line of though as +Clockwork-Muse, What happens if you are already sustaining an area-effect spell and new targets enter it, but you don't see them? –  Felipe Nov 30 '12 at 21:59
1  
@Clockwork-Muse Yes, only when moving it around, I will make the wording clearer –  Cristol.GdM Dec 1 '12 at 1:52
1  
@Felipe As far as I understand it, they would be affected as long as it's an Indirect spell –  Cristol.GdM Dec 1 '12 at 2:01
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.