Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I am currently playing a totemist. I was hoping to expand my damage and versatility through multiclassing into Incarnate to gain access to some more damaging powers, and I came across a question I cannot answer myself.

Does having the ability to bind a chakra (with the exception of totem) from totemist allow me to bind incarnate soulmelds to the chakra from totemist?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Yes, you can bind Incarnate melds to chakras unlocked via the Totemist class. The ability to bind a soulmeld to a given chakra is an ability that, once obtained, is independent of the phenomenon that granted it.

As far as I know, this is more a result of omission than something that is explicitly written out, however. The general rules for chakra binds (Magic of Incarnum page 51) do not mention that class-specific soulmelds can only be bound to a chakra unlocked via that class, and neither do the "Chakra Binds" class features themselves. For a final argument, I will add that such a restriction would make the prestige classes, the spells, the feats, the power, and the magic item that grant additional chakra binds rather useless.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.