Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I was considering playing a Summoner in my next Pathfinder campaign, and I decided that I wanted my Eidolon to be a a four-armed giant (the character being a Gnome with a height complex).

Well, I thought to myself: If it has four arms, then shouldn't it be able to wield two two-handed weapons?

As far as I can tell, it should work. That said, how would that work, exactly? I would assume that it would work like usual two-weapon wielding as far as feats and the like, and it would gain all the bonuses from two-weapon wielding as well. However, as this isn't exactly something that happens often, and thus there are no rules for it (that I can find) I can't be sure of any of this. Does anyone know of anything that could help me with this?

share|improve this question
2  
I've been thinking... What exactly are you calling two-handed weapons ? Because, for a creature of Large size, a Medium-sized two-handed weapon is one-handed, IIRC... using Sean's answer, your Eidolon could technically be wielding 4 Greatswords. –  Nigralbus Dec 5 '12 at 13:14
    
Two-handed weapons as appropriate for the creature wielding them. Same concept as asking about a halfling wielding a great sword, I'm assuming that it's sized appropriate for all answers. –  Zach Dec 5 '12 at 20:40
add comment

3 Answers

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Information from http://www.d20pfsrd.com :

Feat: Multiweapon Fighting (Combat)

This multi-armed creature is skilled at making attacks with multiple weapons.

Prerequisites: Dex 13, three or more hands.

Benefit: Penalties for fighting with multiple weapons are reduced by –2 with the primary hand and by –6 with off hands.

Normal: A creature without this feat takes a –6 penalty on attacks made with its primary hand and a –10 penalty on attacks made with all of its off hands. (It has one primary hand, and all the others are off hands.) See Two-Weapon Fighting.

Special: This feat replaces the Two-Weapon Fighting feat for creatures with more than two arms.

Table: Two-Weapon Fighting Penalties

Circumstances             Primary Hand  Off Hand
Normal penalties               –6            –10
Off-hand weapon is light       –4            –8
Two-Weapon Fighting feat       –4            –4
Off-hand weapon is light and
Two-Weapon Fighting feat       -2            –2
share|improve this answer
add comment

It should be doable, but note that paired weapons that way would require the weapon to be wielded effectively with the two arms on one side. The feat, RAW, however, presumes 1-hand weapons.

Having fought with Case of Rapier in the SCA, you can't use the rapiers in the full range of options when dual wielding - in Case, you have to keep each out of the way of the other. I've also fought greatsword...

The same would be true for a dual wield of greatswords in a 4 armed species. It would be perfectly reasonable to reduce the damage from one or both, due to the changes in the way the biomechanics works, and/or to require increased strength, but the version I have doesn't discuss dual wielding in many-armed species.

So... I would suggest that, if allowing it, it would require a separate "2-handed dual-wield" giving a -1 damage penalty (for biomechanical reasons) if both are 2-handed, and none if the secondary is smaller, and the same to hit penalties as normal, and an "Improved 2-hand dual-wield" without the damage penalty.

share|improve this answer
add comment

I don't know what the rules would tell, but I find hard to imagine that creature fighting that way.

When you hit with a two handed weapon you don't use only two hands/arms. The whole body goes along to give the attack/parry strength. I don't know much about anatomy, but I think if you made two attacks with those weapon, or an attack and a parry, your back could break in two.

Also, I think that a sword would always be in the middle of the other, so I don't see that working.

share|improve this answer
5  
Comments purged. Summary: The asker is looking for a RAW answer. This is a simulationalist answer. –  C. Ross Dec 3 '12 at 15:10
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.