A player in my group is building a PC with a reach weapon
With a reach weapon, a creature can make melee attacks against enemies that are 2 squares away from it as well as adjacent enemies. Even so, the wielder can make opportunity attacks only against enemies adjacent to it and can flank only enemies adjacent to it.
and he wants to take the
Repel Charge feat:
Whenever an enemy makes a charge attack against you, you can make a melee basic attack against that enemy as an opportunity action.
His question is: Can the MBA provided by
Repel Charge be made at reach, before the charging target is adjacent to the PC making the attack?
Relevant rulings may include that melee basic attacks have a reach of
weapon, and that:
Just like an immediate interrupt, an opportunity action interrupts its trigger, taking place before the trigger finishes.
As noted above, the restriction on opportunity attacks with reach weapons applies to the subset opportunity attacks, rather than the larger set opportunity actions (which is what the
Repel Charge attack is). Otherwise this would be trivial.