Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Obviously, yes, they can. However, is a wizard Proficient with an unarmed strike?

I was writing up a wizard for a campaign, and when I was going over them I noticed that they don't just get simple weapon proficiency, instead they have a list of weapons they're proficient with. Unarmed Strike isn't on it, and technically it is listed as a simple weapon.

At first I thought it didn't make sense, but when I thought about it, it kind of did. You're basically a scholar, you have almost no weapons training at all-Why would you know how to throw a punch? I know from personal experience, if you've never been shown how to punch correctly (or kick, for that matter) it's not just something everyone picks up.

share|improve this question
4  
Even if they ARE proficient by the rules, I think the idea of them NOT being proficient is way too cool to not make it work like that, –  Maurycy Zarzycki Dec 5 '12 at 21:17

1 Answer 1

up vote 13 down vote accepted

Yes wizards are proficient in unarmed strike. Note this line from the SRD Weapons Page:

All characters are proficient with unarmed strikes and any natural weapons they gain from their race.

share|improve this answer
    
I can't find it on the page. Could you be more specific where you found it, please? –  Zach Dec 6 '12 at 20:00
1  
@Zach, you can use your browser's search function (ctrl+f) to find the quoted text exactly. It is 4th sentence under the heading: Simple, Martial, and Exotic Weapons. The hyperlink should take you directly to the heading. –  Colin D Dec 6 '12 at 20:14
2  
Here's the relevant PRD link: paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/… –  Cthos Dec 6 '12 at 20:49

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.