Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

With the 2nd level wizard utility power, Jump, if I use it on someone else and they perform the jump, and the jump takes them past or through threatened squares (or they are currently in melee), do they provoke opportunity attacks? It's a free action to make the jump. My feeling is that it does provoke, but would like some opinions.

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 8 down vote accepted

Yes, they would be subject to opportunity attack(s).

Opportunity attacks happen when you leave a square adjacent to an enemy. The only exceptions to this are shifting, teleporting or forced movement (defined as a push, pull or slide).

The Jump power is an excellent example of causing movement that is not forced, so it will provoke the opportunity attacks.

The last note is that you cannot take an opportunity attack on your turn, so use this on that creature that's flanked between your fighter and thief buddies :).

share|improve this answer
    
Except the creature could choose to jump 0 squares and you've wasted your power? –  Soulrift Dec 11 '12 at 19:13
    
@Soulrift yes. There is no compulsion to move here (OA's should be optional). –  wax eagle Dec 11 '12 at 19:22
    
I hadn't thought of the offensive use, though you'd have to make it awfully tempting for them to knowingly provoke OAs. –  Kobold_Warlord Dec 12 '12 at 12:15
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.