Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

From compendium:

Spirit's Prey (Opportunity action)

Trigger: An enemy leaves a square adjacent to your spirit companion without shifting
Target: The triggering enemy
Effect: One ally within 10 squares of your spirit companion can make a ranged basic attack against the target as a free action with combat advantage.

Due to the wording in this power, it seems to be an exception to the teleportation rules provoking no opportunity actions (PHB2 p211). The target is leaving the square without shifting. I feel like if the wording was instead "The target leaves a square adjacent to the spirit without shifting or teleporting", a teleport would not provoke. Can someone help clear this up for me, or explain why teleport wording still overrides what to me looks like an exception wording in the Spirit Prey's power?

In the same vein, does forced movement provoke? To me, the wording "leaves a square" sounds voluntary, so forced movement still would not provoke.

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

From the Rules Compendium, page 212:

No Opportunity Actions Triggered: When a target is pulled, pushed, or slid, it does not trigger opportunity actions, such as opportunity attacks, that are triggered by movement.

From the Rules Compendium, page 214:

No Opportunity Actions Triggered: When a target teleports, it doesn't provoke opportunity actions, such as opportunity attacks, that are triggered by movement.

Nothing in Spirit's Prey overrides the default rule by saying that teleportation or forced movement do trigger it, therefore the default rule stands and teleportation and forced movement do not trigger Spirit's Prey.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks for the clarification! –  Daridious Dec 13 '12 at 17:57
1  
@Daridious: Remember to upvote the answer if you liked it (click the up arrow above the number on the left side) assuming you have enough rep to upvote. Remember to accept the answer (click the check mark under the number on the left side) if you feel that it was the correct answer to the question. –  Oblivious Sage Dec 13 '12 at 18:00
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.